rodicas

About

Rodica is the first name of each of the two protagonists in Alice Gruia’s film. Rodica Grill is 86 years old and the two years older Rodica Gruia is her best friend and Alice’s grandmother. Both of them have Romanian-Jewish roots and have been living for 30 and 20 years respectively in Sydney, Australia, where they met.

RODICA GRILL is the more childish of the two, with the biggest mouth. She was always looking for a free country which she found neither in Romania nor in Uruguay. Rodica is by nature a fighter. She is still working as an interpreter in Sydney’s hospitals. She loves gin tonic and dancing. She can philosophise for hours about God and the World, however not with her best friend.

RODICA GRUIA is the practical one, she does not speak about certain things. Certainly not about death. Rodica is a real lady. She lives in her perfect world, through which she moves quickly in perfectly colourmatched clothes. She first emigrated to Germany and then together with her sons she moved to Australia. Even her best friend untill today does not know why. Rodica trains every day in a fitness studio, babysits her grandsons and loves Obama.

When the RODICAS are together they are like teenagers: They patter without a break, go shopping, to concerts and try out new cafés. They are sarcastic and strong-willed. They say, they are like sisters. At the same time they behave like an old married couple, that against all odds has learned how to function together.

Alice Gruia shows what one does not notice at first sight: Their turbulent and dramatic pasts have definately left their imprint on them. It is striking how their methods of dealing with present problems and past traumas are diametrically opposed. Both methods seem to work however.

A film about the lust for life, the power and the humour of two women, who could not be more extraordinary and yet ordinary, different and yet so similar at the same time.

rodicas

Inhalt

Rodica ist der Vorname der beiden Protagonistinnen im Debütfilm von Alice Gruia. Rodica Gruia ist ihre 88-jährige Großmutter, Rodica Grill deren zwei Jahre jüngere beste Freundin. Beide haben jüdisch-rumänische Wurzeln und leben seit 20 bzw 30 Jahren in Sydney, Australien, wo sie sich kennengelernt haben.

RODICA GRILL ist die kindlichere der beiden, die mit der größeren Klappe. Sie war stets auf der Suche nach einem freien Land, was sie weder in Rumänien noch in Uruguay fand. Rodica ist eine Kämpfernatur. Bis heute arbeitet sie als Dolmetscherin in Sydneys Krankenhäusern. Sie liebt Gin Tonic und Tanzen. Sie kann stundenlang über Gott und die Welt philosophieren, jedoch nicht mit ihrer besten Freundin.

RODICA GRUIA ist von praktischer Natur, über bestimmte Dinge spricht sie einfach nicht. Schon gar nicht über den Tod. Rodica ist eine richtige Lady. Sie lebt in ihrer perfekten Welt, durch die sie sich schnell in farblich perfekt abgestimmter Kleidung bewegt. Sie ist erst aus Rumänien nach Deutschland emigriert, dann in den 80ern gemeinsam mit ihren Söhnen nach Australien gezogen. Den Grund dafür kennt nicht einmal ihre beste Freundin. Rodica trainiert jeden Tag im Fitnessstudio, babysittet ihre Enkel und liebt Obama.

Wenn die RODICAS zusammen sind, sind sie wie Teenager: Sie plappern ohne Pause, besuchen Konzerte, shoppen und probieren neue Cafés aus. Sie sind sarkastisch und willensstark. Sie sagen, sie seien wie Schwestern. Gleichzeitig wirken sie wie ein altes Ehepaar, das trotz aller Widersprüchlichkeiten gelernt hat, zusammen zu funktionieren.

Alice Gruia holt hervor, was man nicht auf den ersten Blick sieht: Ihre turbulenten und dramatischen Vergangenheiten haben sehr wohl Spuren hinterlassen. Auffallend ist ihr gegensätzlicher Umgang mit ihren Problemen und Schicksalsschlägen. Beide Rezepte jedoch scheinen zu funktionieren.

Ein Film über die Lebenslust, die Kraft und den Witz zweier Frauen, die außergewöhnlicher und gewöhnlicher, unterschiedlicher und ähnlicher zugleich nicht sein könnten.